NHL gives very brief embarrassing explanation on why the Flames goal was called off

May 27, 2022  (4:15 PM)

Last night the Edmonton Oilers defeated the Calgary Flames 5-4 in overtime to move onto the Western Conference finals. If you missed it, this was a very exciting game that saw 4 goals scored in just over 2 minutes of hockey. It has big hits, lots of goals, but unfortunately, some controversy.

Late in the third period the score was 4-4 and Blake Coleman thought he scored the go-ahead goal to put the Flames ahead. But the goal was called back and was deemed to have ''Kicking motion''.
Here is the NHL's rule on kicking a puck with your skate:
Plays that involve a puck entering the net as a direct result of a ''distinct kicking motion'' shall be ruled NO GOAL.

A ''distinct kicking motion'' for purposes of Video Review, is one where the video makes clear that an attacking Player has deliberately propelled the puck with a kick of his foot or skate and the puck subsequently enters the net. A goal cannot be scored on a play where an attacking Player propels the puck with his skate into the net (even by means of a subsequent deflection off of another Player) using a «distinct kicking motion.» A goal also cannot be scored on a play where an attacking Player kicks any equipment (stick, glove, helmet, etc.) at the puck, including kicking the blade of his own stick, causing the puck to cross the goal line.

A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking Player's skate who does not use a ''distinct kicking motion'' shall be ruled a GOAL. A puck that is directed into the net by an attacking Players' skate shall also be ruled a GOAL, as long as no «distinct kicking motion» is evident.

This no-goal call had fans in an uproar, as it seems to be split amongst fans, NHL insiders and ex and current NHL players, whether the goal should have counted or not. This was the very brief, poor explanation that we were given for the ruling on the play:
Type of Review: Distinct Kicking

Motion Result: Call on the ice is overturned. No goal Calgary.

Explanation: Video review determined Calgary's Blake Coleman kicked the puck into the Edmonton net. According to Rule 49.2, "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net with his skate/foot."

The Edmonton Oilers should feel a little bad about being victorious in this fashion, as they were victim to a controversial call years ago when a goal was allowed to count when Ryan Kesler was holding onto the goaltenders pad.
27 MAI   |   349 ANSWERS
NHL gives very brief embarrassing explanation on why the Flames goal was called off

Should this goal have counted?

yes21661.9 %
no13338.1 %
Latest 10 stories